Bristol Intermediate Grand Prix

N.B: The IGP was discontinued after 2017.
The Bristol Intermediate Grand Prix (IGP) was a competition based on a points table which rewarded performances of players in the twelve monthly Bristol Grand Prix tournaments contested each calendar year -- and, from 2006, the Intermediates Trophy.
In 2005 (for one year) there was a change to the format, whereby the four Handicap Knock-outs also qualified for inclusion.
That represented the first change in format since 2002, when the competition was based purely on the twelve monthly Bristol Grand Prix events, after two years when there were just four dedicated IGP tournaments.

Starting with the January GP event, each of the twelve monthly tournaments encompassed both the IGP and its "big sister" competition the Bristol Grand Prix. The Intermediates Trophy, of course, just feeds the IGP.

All players who had not yet attained Premier Status entering any of these tournaments gained IGP points based on their performances. (All players entering the tournaments, regardless of status, received points towards the BGP).

Just as in the BGP, in the IGP a player's seven best tournament points scores counted towards his/her points tally. For full details of how the IGP worked, see Rules and formats.

Find out more about the Bristol Intermediate Grand Prix by clicking on any of the following links:
Rules and formats
Previous years' IGP history

And find out about other related events by clicking on any of the links below:
Calendar of events
Bristol Grand Prix
Back to home page