Awards night, January 29th, 2009

Photos courtesy of Roland Herrera and his assistants

Stuart Mann took a record fourth Bristol Premier League title. Second and third were Gaz Owen and Ian Tarr. Fourth placed Paul Gilbertson was unable to attendStuart Mann, Premier League champion

Gaz Owen, Premier League runner-up

Ian Tarr, Premier League third place
Premier Two had two parallel divisions for the first time, and Peter Edwards won the play-off between the two champions to decide the outright Premier Two champion. The other three players to gain automatic promotion -- Simon Baker, Phil Charlton and Dave Pym, all absent from the awards night -- were veterans of the inaugural Premier League in 2000, and now they're back!Peter Edwards, Premier Two champion
Lewis Young took the Conference League title, while second and third placed Simon Temme and Richard Holness also made it to the promised land of the Premier LeagueLewis Young, Conference champion

Simon Temme, Conference runner-up

Richard Holness, Conference third place
Roland Herrera led the OGP from start to finish, and never looked like being headed, although the race for second place provided a memorable climax to the season. Runner-up Derek Clew distinguished himself by gaining enough points for second place, despite missing five of the twelve tournaments, while Blaine Buchanan did enough in the quarterly Lesters events to clinch third placeRoland Herrera, Open Grand Prix champion

Derek Clew, Open Grand Prix runner-up

Blaine Buchanan, Open Grand Prix third place
Runaway winner of the IGP was Derek Clew, whose 494 points winning margin eclipsed even Marcus Wrinch's massive 2007 record margin. Runner-up was Lewis YoungDerek Clew, Intermediate Grand Prix champion

Lewis Young, Intermediate Grand Prix runner-up
Latest winner of the Consulting Doubles Grand Prix title was Roland Herrera, partnered in three of the four tournaments by runner-up Lizzie Pearce, who couldn't make the ceremony. Third and fourth placed Blaine Buchanan and Peter Edwards were present to claim their prizes, thoughRoland Herrera, Consulting Doubles Grand Prix champion

Blaine Buchanan, Consulting Doubles Grand Prix third place

Peter Edwards, Consulting Doubles Grand Prix fourth place
Lewis Young began the year with a handicap of three, but it was only when that reduced to two that he began to assert himself in the Handicap Trophy, running out a convincing title winner, well ahead of second placed Peter Edwards, who won the title last year. Sponsor Ed Turner is pictured, presenting Lewis with the prizesLewis Young, Handicap Trophy champion, with (right) sponsor Ed Turner

Peter Edwards, Handicap Trophy runner-up
The 2008 Intermediates Trophy title went to Derek Clew, who follows a string of illustrious former winners into the Premier League ranks.Derek Clew, Intermediate Trophy winner
The now unsponsored Rookie of the Year award went this year to Simon Temme, who was adjudged to have pipped Richard Holness to the honourSimon Temme, Rookie of the Year
Pictured here (again) is Roland Herrera, who notched an impressive record sequence of thirteen victories to gain an 8000 to 1 award. Roland has now kindly offered to sponsor these awards, and will give a 50 bonus to the first player who can exceed his record runRoland Herrera, 8000 to 1 winner
Stuart Mann was year end rankings leader for the third year running, just holding off Ann Pocknell, who is a big loss to Bristol Backgammon, having moved to NorfolkStuart Mann, year end Bristol rankings leader
Three of our quarterly Lesters Trophy tournaments now carry an additional reward in the form of a special memorial trophy. For a few years now the winner of the December event takes the John Chidgey Cup, won by Derek Clew in 2008, while Roland Herrera was the second recipient of the Samuel Meade Memorial Shield at the March tournament. New in 2008, linked to the June event, was the Sarah Rosich Memorial Cup, won by Blaine BuchananRoland Herrera, Samuel Mead Memorial Shield winner

Blaine Buchanan, Sarah Rosich Memorial Cup winner

Derek Clew, John Chidgey Cup winner, with Ian Tarr
Backgammon on Mondays was an innovation in 2008, and a four monthly "Autumn Grand Prix" was won by Gaz OwenGaz Owen, Monday Club Autumn Grand Prix winner

Photos courtesy of Roland Herrera and his assistants

2020 Awards Night photos
2019 Awards Night photos
2018 Awards Night photos
2017 Awards Night photos
2016 Awards Night photos
2015 Awards Night photos
2014 Awards Night photos
2013 Awards Night photos
2012 Awards Night photos
2011 Awards Night photos
2010 Awards Night photos
2008 Awards Night photos
2007 Awards Night photos
2006 Awards Night photos
2005 Awards Night photos
2004 Awards Night photos
2003 Awards Night photos
2002 Awards Night photos
2001 Awards Night photos
Back to home page